NEW YORK - CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION (CME)

January 1, 2008

New York state laws and regulations that affect your medical practice

1. Does New York State mandate physicians to attend Continuing Medical Education courses?

Presently, New York State does not require physicians to complete any set number of credit hours of continuing medical education courses. However, physicians are required to complete training in infection control and barrier precautions, and the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment, every four years. Physicians obtain this training from a list of providers approved by the State Department of Education or the State Department of Health. A list of approved providers can be found online at http://www.op.nysed.gov/icproviders.htm

(8 N.Y.C.R.R. § 59.12, 59.13)

Physicians are required to submit documentation, such as a certificate of completion of the course, to the department confirming completion of such coursework upon application or renewal of license to practice medicine. Such certificates can be obtained from the course provider.

3. Are there any exemptions from these requirements?

A physician may apply for an exemption from the child abuse and maltreatment reporting training by submitting an application establishing that such training is unnecessary because the nature of the applicant's practice excludes contact with children. A physician who obtains such an exemption is required to notify the department within 30 days in the event that the nature of the physician's practice changes in a way in that negates the basis for the exemption. A form for this exemption is available online at http://www.op.nysed.gov/form1ce.pdf.

A physician may apply for an exemption from the infection control and barrier precautions training by submitting an application establishing that such training is unnecessary because the nature of the applicant's practice does not require the use of infection control techniques or barrier precautions, or that the applicant has completed training equivalent to that approved by the department. A physician who obtains such an exemption is required to notify the department within 30 days in the event that the nature of the physician's practice changes in a way in that negates the basis for the exemption.

A form for this exemption is available online at http://www.nyhealth.gov/nysdoh/infection/docs/doh-3733.pdf.

Copyright Kern Augustine Conroy and Schoppmann, P.C. Used with permission.