Illinois state laws and regulations that affect your medical practice
A. Elder Abuse:
Under the Illinois Elder Abuse and Neglect Act, any physician who has reason to believe that a person 60 years or older who resides alone or with others has, within the past 12 months, been abused, neglected or financially exploited must report this suspicion to the Illinois Department on Aging within 24 hours. Anyone making such a report while acting as a staff member of a medical facility, agency or board must also notify the administration of that organization of the suspected abuse.
320 ILCS 20/1 et seq.
B. Reporting Crimes:
The Criminal Identification Act requires medical personnel, including physicians, nurses and those operating a medical facility, to inform law enforcement authorities of any person requesting or receiving treatment for injuries caused by criminal conduct or a firearm.
20 ILCS 2630/3.2
C. Reporting Child Abuse:
Under the Abused and Neglect Child Reporting Act a physician must report to the Department of Children and Family Services any suspicions of child abuse or neglect which arises while acting in a professional capacity.
325 ILCS 5/1 et seq.
Copyright © Kern Augustine Conroy and Schoppmann, P.C. Used with permission.