FLORIDA - CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION (CME)

March 18, 2008

Florida state laws and regulations that affect your medical practice

1. How many hours of Continuing Medical Education are required each year for physicians?

Every physician shall be required to complete 40 hours of continuing medical education courses approved by the Board in the 24 months preceding each biennial renewal period.

64 FL ADC 64B8-13.005

In addition, the following changes to CME requirements are in effect as of June 20, 2006 (for MDs only):

Initial licensure:

Two (2) credits in Prevention of Medical Errors

First renewal:

One (1) credit in HIV/AIDS

Two (2) credits in Prevention of Medical Errors

Every renewal thereafter:

40 credit hours of CME including two (2) credits in Prevention of Medical Errors

In addition, every third renewal:

Two (2) credits in Domestic Violence

* For M.D.’s renewing on January 31, 2007, you will be required to complete two (2) credits of Domestic Violence before your renewal in 2011.

* For M.D.’s renewing on January 31, 2008, you will be required to complete two (2) credits of Domestic Violence before your renewal in 2012.

To summarize the changes, the new law provides that physicians (MDs and DOs) will now only be required to complete one (1) credit in HIV/AIDS – this must be done prior to the first renewal of the license, but once the physician has taken one (1) credit, he or she does not ever have to take it again. Most Florida physicians have already met this requirement and will not need to take the course again.

The new law provides that physicians (MDs and DOs) will now only be required to complete two (2) credits in Domestic Violence every third biennial renewal, beginning with renewals following July 1, 2006.

The HIV/AIDS and Domestic Violence courses will no longer be required prior to initial licensure. For initial licensure, the only requirement will be two (2) credits in Prevention of Medical Errors. The biennial requirement for Prevention of Medical Errors also remains the same – MDs and DOs must complete two(2) credits during each two-year licensure cycle.

End of life and palliative care courses can no longer be used in lieu of theHIV/AIDS course or Domestic Violence course.

Florida Medical Association Fact Sheet

3. What are the requirements for reporting CME?

The application for renewal shall include a form on which the licensee shall state that he has completed the required continuing education. The licensee must retain such receipts, vouchers, certificates, or other papers, such as the physician’s recognition awards issued by the AMA, as may be necessary to document completion of the continuing education listed on the renewal form for a period of not less than 4 years from the date the course was taken.

64 FL ADC 64B8-13.005

5. What is the penalty for failure to document compliance with continuing education requirements?

Failure to complete CME requirements or the furnishing of false or misleading information regarding compliance shall be grounds for disciplinary action up to and including license revocation.

64 Fl ADC 64B8-13.005

Copyright © Kern Augustine Conroy and Schoppmann, P.C. Used with permission.

Updated 2008